Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Speech Choir + Ignite!?

 
Author note: We did it boiz! We is done! ( With that said, all pictures from here on wont be circular anymore.... aw sad )

Speech Choir Competition!?
Oh hi. Today I shall talk to you about the Speech choir and Ignite competition that happened tomorrow. Wait what tomorrow? It isn't even there yet wtf? Yes, it hasn't but let me tell you the experience of getting there. Oh don't get me wrong, I'll probably update this later once we have everything done.

So for the ignite speech, Pizza ( Giu ) Filoteo was chosen as a class representative which I think would be a great idea since her ignite speech was really done great. Although some others are also qualified, the other people who were, couldn't. By couldn't, I mean literally, one was going somewhere ( flight I think ) and the other can't because of medical reasons ( which I dont really know the details of since I am not some one who butts in to other peoples lives, yeah you, I am talking about you. Why are you even reading this when you should be reading the other un-parenthesized sentences? )

For the speech Choir. I KNOW WE WILL WIN. I FEEL IT IN MY BLOODY BONES. but like you know if we don't, I'll probably just edit it in the blog settings to remove my humiliation. But HEY HERE WE ARE GIVING EVERYTHING WE HAVE. Here we are trying to "Make our dreams alive! Live the Live! Love Live!" ( Just some line i liked so there ) WE SHALL BE GIVING ALL OUR EMOTIONS AND WE WILL BE GIVING IT WITHOUT EVEN THINKING OF 2ND PLACE. WE ARE GOING TO BE PRESENTING WITH THE INTENTION TO BREAK EVERYONE ( well we wont really kill them but like maybe destroy their future dreams or their famil- *ehem* )

We practiced everything with real EMOTIONS ( how do you even define "real emotions"? ) Real? truth? wait what?
We shall be giving it our all. We will win. I mean like if we don't I'll prolly just edit things out. HAHAHAHA nope. We will win anyway ( but like you know if things happen )


PS: If we do lose, ( which we won't ) I will probably burn everything to the ground ( which I won't )

Jon Santos!?

 
Jon Santos?!
Like hey this blogpost is so overdue but I still remember it like It was yesterday. Yep that's how inspirational Jon Santos is with his words. ( Thinks of more lines to open up the blog but couldn't so continues to the other sentences )
Uhh. Let's get started.

"Follow your passion, I did!" HAHAHAHAHA I  still remembered it lik- *ehem* Yes. That is the quote that I saw in the posters hanging around and the title of the event ( i think ). You see, I didnt know who Jon Santos was. well by name I didn't. By knowing nothing, I sat inside the little theatre room. ( wait. is it even little at all? Shut up secondary comments! ) Anyway. That's what I thought but once I actually saw the person. I know I know him. or her? maybe? and hey It was enjoyable. I'll tell you why

He said something about following his passion. See he finished his course. THEN took a different path. A DIFFERENT PATH THAT HAS NO CONNECTION TO HIS CURRENT PATH HE MADE. And thus, He explained life. That is life. Making different turns that will surely dictate your future. It was surely amazing how he chose a path that was not really expected. I am also pretty sure that almost everyone was cheered up too. His way of speaking to his audience is what makes him shine. He made everyone at least laugh or giggle twice. That shows his reall passion and knows how to handle his audience very well. I think EVERYONE was inspired by him. I mean who wouldn't? A person that went out of his way just to show his passion to the world. Look where he is now. Standing on the peak of his life? No. He is standing on the peak of his dreams. His own path that he carved so heavily. The path of no retur- *ehem* ( I like saying no retur- shut up secondary comments! ) And there. He did so with flying colors. How about you? can you follow your dreams?

Benjamin Alves!?

 
Benjamin Alves is who?
I thought to myself as I sit blindly inside the multipurpose hall. I didn't have a clue about him and didn't ask either. I just know that we will blog this later on so I just sat there quietly. I didn't even know that it was a birthday celebration until the host told us so. SO we just sat there.

Shouts and scream was everywhere! Chill down fam. I dont even know who that is. But once I saw her face, oh wait rather his, yes his face ( he does look like a woman from a far tbh ) I new that he was from a movie that I watched. Which was "Sana Dati" he was the person that died ( was the only thing I thought at first )

Oh hey he's that person that died! Yeass something like that. But hey it was a celebration. And everyone was amazed to be honest. Why is he here for his birthday? or something along the lines of those questions. And of course best wishes then some people performed on the stage nearby as a gift of some sort. And then he took the mic and recited a poem on his own too. All this was happening as we munch on the Baked Mac and Cheese along with Zagu and Zesto products ( Marketing!? de jk ) Well to be honest it was delicious. wtf? No not him, the food of course. The good thing about it is that we could get seconds or thirds or maybe fourths? of the food. Well personally I was a food hog ( spare me the pity ) so I got my self 3 Baked macs and around 5 Zagu drinks. *ehem* Stop with the food will ya? Allrightyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy.
Then at the end of the session, there was a shaking hand thing while he gives a cap to us. starstrucked people to be honest. It was a good day! Free food and like free shake hands? Or something along those lines.

Who Wants To Be A Millionaire!?

 
CAN WE EVEN GET INTO THE SEMI FINALS!?
I thought to myself as we were playing the game Who wants to be a millionaire. Well really that's what you should expect since you are not prepared for anything XD. This contest was a group of three, A group of three per block section. And all the English Classes was included too. It was a hell of a contest to be honest. Let me tell you why..................(*you are now reading this*)

So there we were, me , Lexi Pascua and Jed Siroy. we were the chosen people to do the game. Since Giu Filoteo was not around at that time, Jed Siroy replaced her. but whatever, can we even advance? So the elimination round was actually not that hard. Yes, some parts of the game was easy even though it was in the "Difficult" area and likewise, some questions were hard even though it was in the "Easy" mode..... but like hey whatever we cant win anyway.

So we just hoped for the best and did the elimination since we cant run away anyway. Majestically magical unicorn rainbows of miracles later, we found ourselves in the next stage. Which surely wasn't to be expected. It was a battle of wits. Not just of the facts that you know, but by using the logic in your brain to outwit them. This was tested. Horribly, in fact.

At the last questions of the 2nd Round, we found ourselves behind by a sh- load of points. And of course as the last question was being told, I told to myself to break logic and risk everything on one single answer. An answer that was to be unexpected.

A herd of majestically magical unicorn rainbows of miracles later. We won the round. we barely made it with the bloody bet. We reached the finals. Which i didn't really think we could win since we were all unprepared anyway. And of course reality beats the sh- out of us. We lost. Like super. But hey, we did win a trophy along with some green cash. And a lesson.

Paddington Bear!?


Paddingtons!? What's with the S at the end of paddington anyway? *Ehem*
The following sentences will be about the movie entitled "Paddington" which we were told to watch or actually forced to watch in the audio visual room. Well not entirely forced, well you know what I mean.

Paddington is about a bear that could talk, yes It could talk. And about his journey to London. Since Montgomery Clyde told him to visit London because everyone is everything that he said it to be. But it turns out reality is going to punch the honey out of Paddington. Everything he was told will be so, was not real. Well not technically. but like not everything he expects it to be.

Whoah a double enter? Yes. I realized I shouldnt really just talk about the movie's plot but rather my own opinion on it. I think that this movie is deserving of an award. And upon actually checking wikipedia, it really won one. So where does this go? It shows that the movie is great. It shows the importance of trusting people. It shows that everything might seem grim at first glance but if you look deeper, It is not what it seems.

Paddington as a movie is great for a family movie. Or maybe a movie to be watched by people along with other people. A downside to this is that you won't entirely enjoy it's comedy or actually most of the movie if you are only watching on your own. It sucks but hey it's life. Hey, it tried and tested since I tried to watch in again on the computer. It gave good points but those points aren't really to be understood by children to be honest, which will be hard since it is a family movie. It is nonetheless a great animation/home movie, I recommend it to anyone who could watch things with people with them.

Public Speaking Competition!?

 
MY GOD. HOW NERVE WRECKING THAT WAS.
I thought to my self as I write down this blogpost. This post is about my experience at the Public Speaking competition that occurred this Wednesday. The story of how I almost got destroyed. gahd

Sir Nomer, our teacher, chose people to do the ignite and the pubspe finals. For some godlike reason, I was included in that bloody list. It was me, Ron Padilla, Lexis Pascua, Kim Quijano, and Gile Cabison. Who would've thought that it would actually be a contest and an event. In front of people. IN FRONT OF JUDGES?! *ehem* Yes.

If you know me as a person, I do not memorize speeches, even the ones that Sir Nomer said to. I just don't. It's not my style. BUTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT seeing that IT WAS ACTUALLY A COMPETITION ( which I was informed late about ), I did try my best to memorize a full page. A full page that I actually DID NOT USE.

wait. Did not use? Yes you heard me. After the opening, we went straight to the designated rooms. AND HEY, I AM SECOND TO TELL THE SPEECH. The terrifying part was that I actually did not FULLY memorized everything. Just you know, major keywords and stuff. *BENG* First person was called and I couldn't read the speech in front of my eyes. From the seats, i couldnt read my own piece. I was blinded. I also couldn't hear properly to follow that up. *BOOM* HERE WE GO!?
I was called out to the front. I thought to my self to do it like any other speech project. With a smile and without stopping for the dreadful dead air moments that I myself hated.

The thing here is that after my hook and the first paragraph, I couldnt remember anything from my speech anymore. The second paragraph started with "Integrity" but I do not know the words after them. Stopping from there. 2 seconds in with silence, I dare stop the 2 second silence. EVERYTHING FROM THEN ON BECAME WHAT MY SPEECH WAS. A bloody impromptu one. TIll the end of course. I could feel my hands were shaking as I present. I just couldn't handle everything properly since they were all staring at me. My god. I dont want to go into more asdnjzxncjznxjcnzjcxnzjx
And hey, everything that I hoped for was done!

Edith L. TIempo!?

 
Edith L. Tiempo is a poet, fiction writer, teacher and literary critic was a Filipino writer in the English language. Shewas born in Nueva Vizcaya. Her poems are  verbal transfigurations of significant experiences as revealed, in two of her pieces, "Lament for the Littlest Fellow" and "Bonsai." As fictionist, Tiempo is as morally profound. Her language has been marked as "descriptive but unburdened by scrupulous detailing." Tiempo is an influential tradition in Philippine Literature in English. Together with her late husband, writer and critic Edilberto K. Tiempo, they founded and directed the Silliman National Writers Workshop in Dumaguete City, which has produced some of the Philippines' best writers. She was also conferred the National Artist Award for Literature in 1999. Some other awards she received are Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature, Cultural Center of the Philippines (1979, First Prize in Novel), and Gawad Pambansang Alagad ni Balagtas.

Although her works are deep, most of her works speaks to the audience in such a a way that leaves the viewers wanting to talk to the person themselves. I surely have not entirely read most of her works due to the time but that doesn't really stop me from talking about her work. Sad it may seem, her last breath was on August 21 of 2011. That does not, however, stop her from speaking out to her audience with her works. Along with her husband, they were one of the proud writers of the Philippines. Bonsai, in particular, gave off a different feeling. It shows the different meanings of love. How things slowly become the symbol of ones love and the like. I recommend reading even just her poems for starters. You will then see how she speaks to everyone using her words. Some people will always speak to their audience, even though they aren't there anymore.

Sunday, March 6, 2016

Plagiarism!?



What is plagiarism? No, I mean what does it do? The owner would be under-credited because of no citing of works? Probably. Stealing and owning it. A fast way to say it. Do not be alarmed if you do not cite anything or link anything when you use a picture or anything, just do not say that it is yours. Safer to use a disclaimer though.


Plagiarism is a huge problem in our society today. It's not just on written works now, since the Internet was made, it became such a problem for country development. Some senators would even take lines from speeches of other people. It's basically stealing someones intellectual property.

The Internet is a scary place. More than you could ever think. It has all the material that people can not easily take. Plagiarism affects the people who might make their work for a living. If you steal their material, you are somehow stealing their money. Ideas are being stolen everyday and the people who originally own it have no say because their names are not recognized. The higher people will always have the advantage. It will always be. It's the way of the jungle.

Plagiarism is a crime yet people take it lightly actually. The people should be informed that it is. People are highly responsive to incentives, the government should take actions actually. Now, why do I sound so serious? Because I am. I have a couple of acquaintances who got under-credited. They didn't do anything because they couldn't.

Plagiarism is actually a hard problem to stop. It is actually tricky since changing just a few words can actually pass of as "rewording." It is also hard to detect if people are actually "pros". Since the Internet was made, people have more freedom. They should know the difference from right or wrong.
They should know the difference of stealing and using inspiration.